Study Medicine in Poland in English
17 English-taught medicine programmes at 17 universities in 15 cities in Poland — all Integrated Master's, 12 semesters. Every programme below links straight to the university that teaches it.
All 17 English-taught Medicine programmes in Poland
Long-cycle (integrated) Master's degrees of 12 semesters and 360 ECTS, ordered by the rate the university publishes for its English-taught studies — a university-wide figure, not the programme's own fee; universities that publish none come last.
| Programme | University | City | Level | University rate / year | Length | English test |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medicine Full-time | Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun | Toruń | Long-cycle | €1,395 | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Required |
| Medicine Full-time | WSB University | Dąbrowa Górnicza | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn | Olsztyn | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Required |
| Medicine Full-time | Jan Kochanowski University in Kielce | Kielce | Long-cycle | €4,651 | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Medical University of Gdansk | Gdańsk | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Part-time | Medical University of Lublin | Lublin | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Medical University of Lodz | Łódź | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Poznan University of Medical Sciences | Poznań | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Jagiellonian University | Kraków | Long-cycle | Not published no fee listed for EU citizens in Polish-taught studies — check with the university | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Andrzej Frycz Modrzewski Krakow University | Kraków | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Wroclaw Medical University | Wrocław | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Medical University of Warsaw | Warszawa | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Medical University of Silesia in Katowice | Katowice | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Pomeranian Medical University in Szczecin | Szczecin | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | University of Rzeszow | Rzeszów | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Silesian Academy | Katowice | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Not stated |
| Medicine Full-time | Medical University of Bialystok | Białystok | Long-cycle | Not published | 12 sem. · 360 ECTS | Required |
About the fees: Tuition in this catalogue is recorded per university, not per programme: each university publishes one figure (or a list) for its English-taught studies and the catalogue stores the lowest of them, which every one of its programmes then inherits. A figure shown next to a programme can therefore be another programme's rate — a medical or dental degree in particular usually costs several times more. Always confirm the current fee for your programme on the university's own page before you apply. Universities whose published wording gives no usable euro figure, or only a “free” route for a Polish-taught or state-funded programme, are shown here as “Not published” rather than as a price.
Universities offering medicine in English
17 universities in 15 cities teach the English-taught MD programme.
- Andrzej Frycz Modrzewski Krakow University
- Jagiellonian University
- Jan Kochanowski University in Kielce
- Medical University of Bialystok
- Medical University of Gdansk
- Medical University of Lodz
- Medical University of Lublin
- Medical University of Silesia in Katowice
- Medical University of Warsaw
- Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun
- Pomeranian Medical University in Szczecin
- Poznan University of Medical Sciences
- Silesian Academy
- University of Rzeszow
- University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
- Wroclaw Medical University
- WSB University
Cities: KatowiceKrakówBiałystokDąbrowa GórniczaGdańskKielceŁódźLublinOlsztynPoznańRzeszówSzczecinToruńWarszawaWrocław
What medicine costs in Poland
University-wide rates only: the catalogue holds one figure per university, not per programme, so nothing here is a price for this degree.
8 of the 17 universities teaching medicine in English publish a tuition rate: university rates €1,395–€16,047/yr (university-wide figures, not per-programme fees). The table shows each figure as that university's rate for its English-taught studies — usually the cheapest of its English programmes — not as the medicine fee, and “Not published” wherever the university publishes none. Tuition in this catalogue is recorded per university, not per programme: each university publishes one figure (or a list) for its English-taught studies and the catalogue stores the lowest of them, which every one of its programmes then inherits. A figure shown next to a programme can therefore be another programme's rate — a medical or dental degree in particular usually costs several times more. Always confirm the current fee for your programme on the university's own page before you apply. Universities whose published wording gives no usable euro figure, or only a “free” route for a Polish-taught or state-funded programme, are shown here as “Not published” rather than as a price.
Tuition is only part of the budget — the tuition and living-costs guide breaks down what the catalogue actually shows for fees, application fees and monthly living costs. For a second opinion on programme fees you can also check degree.edu.pl.
How admission to medicine in Poland works
Admission to an English-taught medical programme is run by each university itself, not by a central clearing system. In practice universities assess candidates through some combination of secondary-school results in biology and chemistry, an entrance exam and an interview — but which of those apply, what they cover and when they run differ from university to university, and they change from year to year. Take the requirements from the university's own admissions page, and treat anything else (including this page) as a starting point.
- Open the university page for each shortlisted programme — every university page on this site carries the admissions contacts, application platform and the screenshots of the official pages we used.
- Read the step-by-step how to apply guide and the application platforms guide (IRK, DreamApply and university portals) before you start filling anything in.
- Poland has no single, country-wide grade quota comparable to Germany's Numerus Clausus: each university sets its own admission route and its own number of places for international candidates.
- Check recognition before you apply. Inside the EU/EEA, medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing, midwifery and veterinary qualifications from an EU member state fall under Directive 2005/36/EC. Outside the EU, your own country's regulator decides, and most require a licensing exam and often that the school appears in the World Directory of Medical Schools.
Official sources: study.gov.pl NAWA Directive 2005/36/EC (EUR-Lex)
Other health degrees taught in English
Same data, one page per track.
All health & welfare programmes Best universities for health Veterinary medicine Programmes without IELTS
Medicine in Poland — frequently asked questions
- How many universities in Poland teach medicine in English?
- 17 universities in this catalogue offer 17 English-taught medicine programmes, across 15 cities: Katowice, Kraków, Białystok, Dąbrowa Górnicza, Gdańsk, Kielce, Łódź, Lublin, Olsztyn, Poznań, Rzeszów, Szczecin, Toruń, Warszawa, Wrocław.
- How much does it cost to study medicine in Poland?
- This catalogue records tuition per university, not per programme: 8 of the 17 universities teaching medicine in English publish a rate, and every one of that university's programmes inherits the same figure — the lowest the university publishes, which is usually its cheapest English programme. Treat it as a floor rather than as this degree's fee (a clinical degree such as medicine or dentistry normally costs several times more) and take the fee for your programme from the university's own admissions page. The table on this page shows each university's published rate, and “Not published” where there is none.
- How long are the medicine programmes in Poland?
- Every medicine programme in this catalogue reports 12 semesters — 6 years of full study, 360 ECTS. Individual universities may structure the years differently, so check the programme page for the exact plan.
- Is a Polish medical degree recognised in other countries?
- Inside the EU/EEA, doctor, dentist, pharmacist, nurse, midwife and veterinary qualifications awarded by an EU member state are covered by the recognition regime of Directive 2005/36/EC. Outside the EU, recognition is decided by the destination country's own medical regulator and normally involves a licensing exam (for example the USMLE in the United States or the PLAB in the United Kingdom); many of those regulators also require the university to be listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools. Verify the current requirements with that regulator before you apply.
Coming from a specific country?
Country guides cover recognition, visas and the documents you will need: